St Ann’s Crowned Singles Champs

Wednesday’s final round 3-1 win over Dyke in the Seven Dials Derby secured victory for St Ann’s in the inaugural 2020 Parks League singles competition.

St Ann’s Marco Pineda, Leon Stafford and Gabriel Jeffery all won their ties to seal the title. Congratulations to all the members of Team St Ann’s who contributed over the course of the 2020 season, including David Redinha, Savii Arsenova, Scott Tawse, James Christie and Stephen Milonas (captain).

St Ann’s players dominated the individual scoring charts, topped by Leon and Marco.

Started back in July, the Singles League featured a four-man (or woman) team competing in a weekly face-off against the strongest Parks League teams, including Queens, Dyke and Saltdean.

Final match, 14 October 2020, full results:

St Ann’s v Dyke (3-1)

Rob Bromley (Dyke [2]) bt David Redinha (St Ann’s [1])
{7-6, 7-5}
Marco Pineda (St Ann’s [2]) bt Chris Mitchell (Dyke [3])
{6-2, 6-0}
Leon Stafford (St Ann’s [4]) bt Marco Benedetto (Dyke [4])
{6-2, 6-2}
Gabriel Jeffery (St Ann’s [8]) bt Antonia Charalambous (Dyke [6])
{6-2, 4-6, 6-1}